Make-Up 101: Tips for the day

 

Image via Gemma Sutton Brides (H&MU by Gemma Sutton)


Flash photography, endless dancing, champagne drinking – enemies of the perfectly done face. Is it possible to really enjoy yourself whilst also looking like a well-rested goddess?

We’ve talked to our make-up artist friends, who know a thing or two about getting the most from your bridal look and we're here to impart the wisdom. Like always, we’ve got you covered. Here are some tips for the day:

Beware of the flash

Flash photography can be unforgiving, emphasising pores and pink/red tones in skin. Be sure to colour correct with a yellow toned foundation to counteract and use a pore minimising/hydrating primer as prep beforehand too.

Forgo the SPF! Usually we’d say SPF is a must but for photography the zinc oxide can give you a ghostly look to your face. So it's best to avoid on the day.

Here are some of our top picks of primers and foundations that last.

(Pore Refining: Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer https://www.libertylondon.com/uk/veil-mineral-primer-319895.html/ Hydrating: Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer http://www.libertylondon.com/uk/hydrating-foundation-primer-1000722950.html?dwvar_202103_color=98-NO%20COLOUR&referrer=brands#start=1 / Plumping: Embryolisse Laboratories Lait-Creme Concentre https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/embryolisse-laboratories-lait-creme-concentre.html?gclid=CL_auozY4tECFbEW0wod0QQBng)

(Make Up Forever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10701_10001_123435056899_-1 / Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation http://www.houseoffraser.co.uk/Giorgio+Armani+Luminous+Silk+Foundation/D180898,default,pd.html / Nars Sheer Glow Foundation http://www.spacenk.com/uk/en_GB/restricted_items/sheer-glow-foundation-UK200005272.html)

Shimmer & Shine

Oil control is key to foundation longevity. A light dusting of setting powder keeps your concealer and base going for hours but not all can strand up to flash photography.  Laura Mercier does a perfect translucent powder that looks good in photographs as well as in real life. The Hourglass Lighting powders are are another winner for giving a sexy softly-lit look (try the Ambient Lighting Powder which works on every skin tone). For those with dryer skin try the Terry Hydra Powder - a light veil will set your makeup, keep you matte and prevent you from looking like a stale slice of cake come midnight.

(Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder http://www.feelunique.com/p/Laura-Mercier-Loose-Setting-Powder-Translucent-29g / Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Dim Light http://www.libertylondon.com/uk/ambient-lighting-powder-379135.html / Terry Hydra-Powder http://www.spacenk.com/uk/en_GB/brands/b/by-terry/hyaluronic-hydra-powder-US300023442.html)

After powdering, a quick highlight and contour is a good idea. But make sure not to go full on heavy. Think english rose not KimK. Charlotte Tilbury’s Filmstar Bronze & Glow is our compact of choice but we can’t resist the iconic silky powders Becca and Surratt either!

(Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow http://www.charlottetilbury.com/uk/filmstar-bronze-and-glow.html/ Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector  https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/becca-shimmering-skin-perfector-pressed.html/ Surratt Artistique Blush Aureole  https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/surratt-artistique-blush-aureole.html)

Blushing Brides

Blush is a must to stop you looking like a corpse bride. For a natural flush that lasts all day, try using two different powders instead of one: the first a natural colour that is blended around the cheek and the second a brighter hue blended onto the apples. Charlotte Tilbury has a good colour selection of multi-tonal blushes (Ecstasy is our favourite). Also worth a mention are Tarte Amazonian 12 Hour Clay Blush and Stila’s Convertible Colour, a cream blush (best applied before powder).

(Charlotte Tilbury Chic to Chic http://www.charlottetilbury.com/uk/cheek-to-chic-ecstasy.html /Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush http://tartecosmetics.com/tarte-item-Amazonian-clay-12-hour-blush/ Stila Convertible Colour https://stila.co.uk/collections/cheeks/products/convertible-color-lips-and-cheeks?gclid=COmg4vmq6tECFSW-7QodH-AKRA)

Precious Pouts

Neutral colours look washed out on camera. For the big day pick a brighter shade for your lips. A warm pink or rose gives a bitten-lip look. For the bolder brides, why not try a burgundy red or plum channelling Rita in your slinky Sabina Motasem Elsa Dress!

To make it last: scrub, moisturise and line! Make sure to to use a matching lip pencil to your lip colour. Tip: If you can’t find a match, use a nude pencil instead – Charlotte Tilbury’s Pillow Talk is a good choice plus is silky enough to wear on its own for a different occasion.

Apply your colour with a lip brush – BLOT – then reapply. For bolder shades, try lightly dusting your lips with translucent powder before reapplying to keep it kiss proof.

NB We will be writing a lipstick blog post soon for more shades that work with our dresses. But for now below are a selection that would work BRILLIANTLY with a Sabina Motasem Dress.

(Laura Mercier Crème Smooth Lip Colour in Rose http://www.libertylondon.com/uk/creme-smooth-lip-colour-in-rose-1001596322.html?dwvar_427275_color=98-NO%20COLOUR&referrer=departments#prefn1=Beauty_Make+Up_Lips_Category&sz=60&start=1&prefv1=Lipstick/ Nars Audacious Lipstick in Vera https://www.net-a-porter.com/gb/en/product/710962/ Tom Ford Lips & Boys in Dominic https://www.net-a-porter.com/us/en/product/832450)

Finishing touches

Waterproof mascara is obvious but some mascaras were made giants. We’ve tried and tested a few and the Trish McEvoy selection comes trumps. It’s easy to take off in one wipe without smudging AT ALL during the day. No wonder it’s one of their best sellers. We’ve actually forgone falsies given how good they curl your lashes too.

A nice dewy mist will keep you locked in and looking like a heavenly angel. Urban Decay's mists are some of the best in the market for a reason, the staying power is unreal. We also like the Pixi Glow Mist for times when you need a bit more hydration. We suggest keeping it on hand throughout the day to maintain the lasting power - a job for your Chief Bridesmaid perhaps?

(Trish McEvoy Lash Curling Mascara http://www.libertylondon.com/uk/lash-curling-mascara-in-jet-black-1001410794.html?dwvar_383187_color=98-NO%20COLOUR&referrer=departments#ph=1001410794&start=1/ Urban Decay All Nighter Spray http://www.urbandecay.co.uk/en_GB/what-s-new/new-arrivals/all-nighter/ud803.html/ Pixi Glow Mist https://pixibeauty.co.uk/collections/mist/products/glow-mist)

 

Keep an eye out for our future beauty blogs. We'll be looking at themes such as the Longest Lasting Lipsticks, Day to Night Bridal Looks and the Best Skincare Products for the Day...

 

January 30, 2017 by Jamila Ali


Older Post / Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.